Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Two Series for Tolkien Fans

We recently received new titles in two series that might appeal to fans of Tolkien's trilogy, the Lord of the Rings.

Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanagan

Ever wanted to be like Aragorn, living the life of a nomadic Ranger? Or even just wondered what such a life would entail? Flanagan's series borrows from the tradition of Rangers established in LotR.

Will, a young orphan who wants to be a soldier, is dismayed when he is chosen to be an apprentice for the Ranger, Halt, instead. His dismay grows as he spends day after day cleaning for Halt. When will he learn how to fight? When Will does eventually learn the ways of the Rangers, he gains enough confidence and smarts to face old rivals and new enemies.

Currently three titles in this series--The Ruins of Gorlan, The Burning Bridge, and The Icebound Land (YP FIC FLANAGAN)--are available here at Moore Memorial Library . We expect the fourth book in the Spring of 2008. Fans may also want to visit Flanagan's website,, where readers can read character sketches, view maps, and see book covers from around the world.

The Books of Pellinor by Alison Croggon

In this Lord of the Rings for girls, Maerad has lived as a slave for as long as she can remember. She has little hope of escape knowing too well the obstacles she would face. Then one morning, she finds a strange man in a barn. Her surprise is nothing to his, though, and he soon realizes that there is more to Maerad than he first believed. So begins her new life. While fighting against seen and unseen foes, she travels with Cadvan, a Bard of Lirigon, learning what she can about her talents and her place in the world.

Though Croggon borrows heavily plot-wise from LotR, these books are well worth the read. Croggon began her writing career as a poet, which is frequently evident in her almost lyrical fiction writing. The characters are entertaining, and if the plot twists aren't that surprising, they at least go off with a bang.

Currently we have three titles from this series--The Naming, The Riddle, and The Crow (YP FIC CROGGON)--available here at Moore Memorial Library. Also, Croggon has posted the first few chapters of the remaining books in the series on her website,

No comments: